Semasize is one of three India-market semaglutide injection trade names introduced by Alkem Laboratories on March 21, 2026, alongside Obesema and Hepaglide. Alkem described a pre-filled disposable pen format and also announced a reusable pen design for higher maintenance presentations. The company associated its local approval with type 2 diabetes and chronic weight management, but individual brand and pack labeling should still be confirmed.
This product-family approach is important for commercial research: three related trade names from one company do not automatically justify three copy-and-paste landing pages. Semasize serves here as the representative Alkem profile. It distinguishes the announced devices, the public approval claim and the information that the launch notice does not verify, such as every individual pack, ongoing inventory or factory location.
Readers in the U.S. should not treat Alkem’s India press release or its international operations as proof of an FDA-approved alternative to Ozempic or Wegovy. The brand directory compares India companies, while generic semaglutide verification explains the different American approval question.
Alkem’s March 21, 2026 announcement explicitly named Semasize, Obesema and Hepaglide in one India semaglutide launch. All three are part of the same company’s announced portfolio, and the release does not by itself establish that each uses an independently developed active ingredient or trial package. Separate pages repeating that one notice would risk inventing distinctions.
This profile therefore preserves sister brand names for searchers while emphasizing the shared corporate event. Individual indications, device packs and marketing labels should be verified from product-specific records before claiming differences beyond what Alkem disclosed.
Alkem described a disposable prefilled semaglutide injection pen with four administration opportunities in a monthly package. The company also discussed a reusable pen format in which the medication cartridge can be changed for some higher maintenance presentations. Those are device-identification facts from an India announcement, not instructions for filling cartridges or switching between systems.
Device differences affect packaging, training and safe identification. A person should never assume that a Zydus reusable pen, Glenmark vial, Alkem cartridge or U.S. branded pen accepts another company’s components. The GLIPIQ guide contrasts vial and pen configurations from a separate manufacturer.
Alkem reported DCGI approval for manufacturing and marketing semaglutide for type 2 diabetes and chronic weight management following an Indian Phase III review. That is a statement about the company’s India product platform; it does not demonstrate that every sister brand, strength or device automatically carries identical language across all packs.
The exact patient population and directions should come from each current local label. In the U.S., only the FDA-approved product-specific wording establishes which forms of Ozempic or Wegovy may be marketed for which purposes. Product naming is not clinical interchangeability.
Alkem’s March 21 press release included a launch-era Indian price illustration for its disposable pen. This price belongs to a particular country, time, format and manufacturer announcement; it should not be reproduced as a guaranteed quote for today, converted into a U.S. “generic Ozempic” deal or compared against a U.S. pen without normalizing pack units and conditions.
The page therefore focuses on device and manufacturer identity rather than a live price table. Anyone researching Indian local prices would need current authorized-channel offers with the same formulation, quantity, date and relevant terms, and U.S. customers should not be directed to unapproved imported alternatives.
Alkem’s March 21, 2026 release calls its injectable semaglutide indigenously developed and presents it as a company launch under three trade names. That supports a company-level development and marketing claim. It does not specify a unique plant for Semasize, separate manufacturing sites for Obesema and Hepaglide, or independently documented device-validation outcomes for every pack.
Alkem describes its broad company manufacturing footprint in the same release, but a count of corporate facilities is not a list of the facilities making Semasize. Avoid converting a corporate capability statement into a batch-level assertion. For the broader distinction between producers and licensees consult Indian manufacturer relationships.
Semasize, Obesema and Hepaglide are all named in one Alkem launch document. Without individual authorization or packaging records differentiating the three names, treating them as three unrelated products with invented indications would be misleading. The useful documented distinctions concern the company’s dosage form and the two pen architectures, not unsupported rankings between its trade names.
The same-day market saw other manufacturers introduce different delivery systems, but Alkem’s statement does not make its disposable or reusable pen compatible with Zydus’ cartridge or Glenmark’s vial. This page provides the Alkem family identity; the broader India brand directory compares manufacturers and marketing roles.
Alkem stated that DCGI had approved manufacture and marketing of semaglutide for type 2 diabetes mellitus and chronic weight management after an Indian Phase III clinical-trial review. This establishes the company’s reported India-side authorization framework, not the complete text of a labeled indication for every Semasize strength or sister-brand package.
Do not present the company’s approval summary as a clinical recommendation for all patient groups or as evidence that an FDA-reviewed U.S. brand is interchangeable. A regulator-authorized local label is required to establish the approved population and instructions for the exact Indian product under discussion.
India’s DCGI decision is jurisdiction-specific. It does not grant an effective FDA NDA or ANDA for Semasize and does not authorize an American seller to list an imported pen as “FDA-approved generic Wegovy.” The product’s similarity to an approved U.S. semaglutide ingredient, and Alkem’s general international presence, do not supply the missing finished-product approval.
This site does not provide an overseas checkout or price-conversion route. The U.S. imported semaglutide guide explains the relevant boundary; lawful American purchasing questions should start with products actually approved and dispensed through licensed U.S. pharmacies.
Alkem described a prefilled disposable pen containing four doses for a month’s supply, and separately a reusable pen with replaceable medication cartridges for certain higher maintenance presentations. The announcement does not state that every Semasize package uses the reusable device; a reader must identify the actual marketed format and pack rather than generalize from one promotional illustration.
For the disposable system, product identity includes the sealed prefilled unit and monthly supply claim. For a cartridge-based offering, the associated pen and cartridge identity must be documented together. Neither system can be presumed compatible with U.S. semaglutide devices, and the company’s four-dose package description is not a dosing instruction.
The March 21 Alkem release advertised a starting India-market monthly price for its disposable presentation. That is a dated promotional claim in local currency for a named launch format, not a current quote for every Semasize device. It does not establish today’s Indian stock, later prices, insurance reimbursement or a permissible American import price.
We intentionally do not publish an evergreen dollar conversion or a seller list. The underlying announcement was checked October 19, 2026; any current India-market cost comparison would need an identifiable legally operating dispenser, corresponding package and a dated written offer.
The table preserves the evidence that Alkem announced Semasize alongside Obesema and Hepaglide, stated two classes of injection device and reported Indian approval for diabetes and weight management. Those are distinct product-identity observations, not assurances that each trade name has every presentation.
When a listing lacks the precise trade name, disposable-versus-reusable device, package description or regulatory record, those omissions should remain visible. Nothing in the matrix determines a personal dose, current retailer inventory or generic equivalence under FDA rules.
| Check | Documented information | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Trade name | Semasize | Alkem company family |
| Other names | Obesema; Hepaglide | Same March 2026 portfolio notice |
| Presentations | Disposable pens; some reusable systems | Verify precise product format |
| Indian regulatory scope | Diabetes and weight management in announcement | Verify pack-specific labeling |
| U.S. market | No FDA approval established | No import purchase offered |
This Semasize profile reflects Alkem’s March 21, 2026 public release, assessed October 19, 2026. The material documents company statements about Indian brands, injection formats and regulatory scope. It does not replace the applicable local package insert or establish FDA approval for any Alkem semaglutide product in the United States.
We do not facilitate U.S. orders for non-FDA-approved imported products or advertise a live Indian pen price. If the broader site earns compensation from unrelated commercial referrals, those relationships should be disclosed where offered. Product choice and device use belong to a properly authorized medical professional.
Semasize is an Alkem Laboratories semaglutide injection brand announced in India in March 2026.
They are additional Alkem semaglutide trade names named in the same launch announcement.
Yes. Alkem discussed reusable devices for certain higher maintenance presentations in addition to disposable pens.
Alkem’s DCGI approval and Indian launch do not constitute U.S. FDA authorization for Semasize.
The cited announcement described semaglutide injection presentations, not a Semasize oral tablet.
The shared launch does not establish that every brand, pack or strength has identical labeling.
No. Dated launch figures cannot verify a current offer, stock or supply conditions.
No. It provides India product identity information without imported-product checkout.
Do not assume compatibility; use only product-specific manufacturer and professional instructions in an authorized market.